new TT user (Read 990 times)
c0ze
RoMzkiddiEz

D-BUGer

new TT user
16.12.10 at 17:31:41
Print Post  
hello there,
First of all, I would like to thank you for all your efforts, for all the patches, and this site to offer support for them.  Smiley
I'm new to the Atari world (mostly an Amiga user) I got hold of a TT, and would like to set it up with some games, however I havent had much luck so far ...

I have some questions as I dont get some of the things you guys take for granted here,

1 - Should I take it that all games which have 030 in the name should work for the TT too ?  Huh

2 - These single file patches, ought to work without anything else ? (no other game files ?) I wonder if they are just 'patches' meant to replace the game exe, or a big exe which includes all files ?

3 - what is the hardware referenced as 'Buggy Unsupported Hardware' ?

some info on my setup :

I am using a TT with 4 meg ST RAM and 32 meg TT RAM with a 4 gb IBM HDD on the internal SCSI, an unknown VME network card (which is not getting used due to no drivers) and a Hydra on the cartridge port (main means to get files from the PC). I am using the ICD driver (latest one, 6.22 ?)

I reduced the caches as low as I can (right now its like 21 Kb or something ?). My auto folder has stuff for Magic, Jinnee, some StiNG cpxs, MagxNet.

4 - I tried to get some games to work from the site of a certain person who shall not be named here, where also usage of bigdos was recommended. I take it it is not necessary ? (I removed it since ...)

As I said I dont get much luck getting games to run (lets say Rick030) The splash screen comes (with press any key message) I press any key and just get a black screen (same story with most games). I try booting with CTRL pressed on boot, (I take it this prevents stuff from auto folder getting executed), install devices (to see the partition where my games are) but stil no luck.